Survey of writers to this CC website

Recent site updates, improvements, etc.

Moderators: Celeste Stewart, Ed, Constant

kkemper1

Survey of writers to this CC website

Post by kkemper1 »

I claim that editors at CC [minimally Ed] are arbitrary in their reviewing standards and that none of you "Enjoy" or find fair, when he rejects by saying "You have errors in your writing" without pointing out what those errors are.

I am a successful writer, with 38 years experience. I do make errors
occassionally and when I do, my article receivers [aka editors] stipulate
what they are and they are corrected the same day by me.

Here at CC, the errors stay a mystery.

What are your collective opinions?
Celeste Stewart

Post by Celeste Stewart »

No one ever enjoys being rejected. Ever submit to a large publication like People Magazine? You'll be lucky to get a form rejection letter with any comments at all. If you do, it will be after months of waiting and will likely feature check boxes that say, "This does not meet our current needs."

Oftentimes the editors here will point out the exact reason. For instance, I was rejected the other day for writing, "Exam your goals" instead of "Examine your goals" and the editor was kind enough to tell me that was why. I like to think that the editor extended this courtesy to me due to an ongoing relationship that has been built over time as well as hundreds of successful submissions beforehand. They are simply too busy to critique each piece.

Saying you have errors is enough of a reason. If you look at your rejected article, I'm sure you'll find errors. Even seasoned writers with decades of experience make mistakes from time to time. In my case, I would've found the "exam" upon careful proofreading. So, if they rejected my article with the only explanation being, "You have errors", I would've looked through my article, and said "Duh! Examine not exam" and resubmitted.