Is CC too good to be true?

A place where authors can exchange ideas or thoughts. Talk about what categories are hot and which ones are not.

Moderators: Celeste Stewart, Ed

DavidPeta28

Is CC too good to be true?

Post by DavidPeta28 »

Ok, so here's a question for my fellow authors: is CC too good to be true?

I don't ask in jest. I am a keen photographer and until last year was making a minor killing on micro stock sites but that ship has sailed: oversaturation of the market, gazillions of eager new talent with cameras, and greedy stock site owners scooping ever greater royalties means that that cake has been sliced & eaten.

Next I went on to DS, a great writing gig albeit very pressurised considering you had only a limited amount of time to write an article that you didn't create. The cash was brilliant but there was always the feeling that that ride was going to come to an abrupt end, so it was no surprise when the thousands of article choices was cut to a handful.

Now I'm on CC, and I'm wondering why I didn't get my act together years ago. I write articles about my pet subjects, at my own pace, then watch them sell at prices I set. And they are selling - particulary when you consider I've only been writing fr just over be full month. The rate is astonishing.

So - is CC the net's best kept secret for writers? Will it one day be oversaturated & unsustainable? Will the owners get greedy & demand ever greater slices of the cake? Or are we just damned lucky to have been chosen & kept on by CC because of our writing skills?

It's mostly speculation, I know, but please humour me!!

David
jadedragon

Re: Is CC too good to be true?

Post by jadedragon »

CC has been around for years. There are never tons of writers jumping on the bandwagon (many can't make the grade here). Many want instant results and quit. Most who sign up never submit the first article. There will always be a market for quality.
jellygator

Post by jellygator »