College education for writers???

A place where authors can exchange ideas or thoughts. Talk about what categories are hot and which ones are not.

Moderators: Celeste Stewart, Ed

SEDeary

College education for writers???

Post by SEDeary »

Hello everyone!

I'm very very excited to be a part of CC and feel very honored to be surrounded with so many prepared and talented people. It's a great experience for me, since I have no formal training as a writer and I see that many of you do. I read the forum posts to learn from your advice to other people and try to improve constantly. However, writing has not been easy. I'm a very slow writer, a very good procrastinator and a non native English speaker.

I'm just beginning this path of freelance writing and I've been wondering if I should pursue a college degree or any other kind of formal training. I hold a BSc in Chemistry but, to be completely honest, I don't want to work in chemistry anymore. I might be a chemist by profession, but I'm a writer by vocation and that's the path I want to take.

Anyway, can anyone offer any recommendations for me? Shoud I start a BA in Journalism? Get a Masters degree in Science Communication? Are there any good journalism courses? I'm really confused right now and I would appreciate any input, specially from experienced authors like you. To be even more honest, going to college again is not going to be easy for me (I'm not sure I can afford it) and a Masters degree requires a high GPA that I don't have. :oops: As you see, formal training is a big effort for me and I just want to make sure that it's worth it. Or, just to know if there are easier ways to improve my writing skills. Would high education make me a better writer?

Sorry for the long post, but I tried to sum it up as much as I could. It'd be really nice to hear some thoughts about this.

Thanks for reading.

(Confused) Sarah :?
jadedragon

Re: College education for writers???

Post by jadedragon »