Anybody Sell For Usage Rights?

Not an author yet? Have questions? Post here!

Moderators: Celeste Stewart, Ed, Constant

undercoverwaitress

Anybody Sell For Usage Rights?

Post by undercoverwaitress »

Just wondering if it is worth it to upload well-written content that has been published before. Do people buy usage rights? Or are most buyers looking for unique and full rights? Thanks.
Sharion

Re: Anybody Sell For Usage Rights?

Post by Sharion »

67% of my sales have been for usage rights. However, they are not articles that I wrote someplace else and then uploaded to CC. They were virgins at the time of sale.

One of those articles sold twice; the rest have been onesies.
jellygator

Post by jellygator »

I've been freelancing for a couple months. So far have sold 4, all for usage rights. (No repeat sales.)
undercoverwaitress

Thanks, guys. @jellygator, were the articles virgins? or were they only offered for usage? I sold an article that was offered for full rights for usage; was a little disappointed, I must admit.

:)
chessgolf

Post by chessgolf »

I wouldn't be too disappointed! Remember that articles sold for Usage can be sold again and again.

I have only written 28 articles on CC but have made 36 Usage sales and only 2 Full Rights.

One article sold 6 times another 5 times and another 4.

Repeat sales on Usage articles can sometimes be more profitable than a one-off sale.

John
jellygator

Post by jellygator »

Mine were virgins. I sell full rights at no less than 10 cents per word, and usually closer to 15 cents, depending on the value customer can gain, how long it takes to research/write, and whether I'm likely to be able to resell it.

I've noticed a scary amount of articles here go for pennies a word for full rights, which does us all a disservice. I hope writers will come to at least require that people who pay very little should have only usage rights.
jak

Post by jak »