Newbie - need advice

Not an author yet? Have questions? Post here!

Moderators: Celeste Stewart, Ed, Constant

Oxymoronica

Newbie - need advice

Post by Oxymoronica »

Hmm. How best to put this so I don't sound like a crazy person...

I'm a full time college student and have been part-time freelancing for various (relatively worthwhile - I won't touch the places that pay pennies anymore) content mills pretty successfully for the last year. I stumbled onto CC and I've been impressed with how much it SEEMS like people can make here... I don't know whether it's an issue of politeness or what, but whenever anyone asks "how much can I make here?" the answer is always "well I write here full time/part time/etc" instead of an actual dollar estimation... I know it's mostly based on how much effort you put into it, but it would be nice to get some dollar amounts from real people in comparison to the amount of articles they write and sell, along with how many hours they spend doing it, etc... Someone should make a chart. :)

In any case, I've had ten articles accepted so far with one currently in the review process. One has sold for full rights, two for usage, for a total of $110.50 last month after CC's cut. I've heard the ratio of articles sold to articles written improves over time so I'm not terribly concerned...yet. Even with the low percentage of my articles that have sold so far, I'm still making about the same amount of money per hour I would have at one of my other gigs for the hours I put into all ten of them (earnings for just the three that sold divided by the hours for all ten). I did not put a whole lot of time toward it, admittedly (I'm still focusing on my other gigs for now because they have actual deadlines).