Sleep Addled Questions from a Noob

Anything goes.... but SPAM :)

Moderators: Celeste Stewart, Ed, Constant

cdoug

Sleep Addled Questions from a Noob

Post by cdoug »

Hi there.

So, I'm sitting here riddled with coffee a couple hours after submitting my first article, positively giddy to hear back from the editor. My fingers and toes are all crossed. I don't know if that's a side effect of the coffee, or what -- what I do know, though, is that it makes typing a bit of a chore. But the the questions rattling around in my noob skull seem important to me at the moment, and so I shall press on. (Oh, and thank you for your time. I wanted to say that before I got too busy trying to be cute. :) I apologize. It's just so nice to have an opportunity to write in the first person again!)

Some small back-story: I'm new to freelancing. Like, really, really new. I think today was my fourth day. Days one and two were spent reading and taking copious notes on an e-book about writing for the web. Yesterday and part of today were spent on four articles for content mills, before I read a few blog posts on the sites in question that made me stop and do the math. I'd like to thank CC's management for creating such a site, because there are worlds of difference between the pay rates I read about, and what I was seeing on the mills and bid sites. First world and third world, namely. But I didn't see much alternative for a new freelancer with no portfolio, and no real credentialed area of expertise. I don't know if I'll make the cut here, but I plan on giving it my best effort, and that's because what's achievable here seems like it might be able to sustain a person of modest needs. Besides, I live in an area where even the burger joints aren't hiring. :)