Worst Writing Job Ever!

Anything goes.... but SPAM :)

Moderators: Celeste Stewart, Ed, Constant

cathleengarvey

Worst Writing Job Ever!

Post by cathleengarvey »

Hello all, I'm a newbie and pretty chuffed to be here among professionals and was just wondering what was everyone's worst writing job when they first started out?

I sent my first articles in to CC and a lot of them came back for revision so I decided to get some experience before ed booted me off the site. I bid for a job on getafreelancer and it was horrible! I was writing 500 words for $1 and after 2 weeks work made a grand total of $18 after my employer claimed his clients rejected most of what I wrote. I Googled the supposedly rejected articles and found them all on the web under different names! I'm also still waiting to actually receive payment!

I have now come crawling back to CC and vowed to work on my submissions. I have sold 3 articles here so far and made more from those than almost 30 articles I submitted elsewhere. Also the topics I had to write on were soul-destroying, 6000 words on dental insurance!!!!!!

Anybody got a worse story than mine?

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Celeste Stewart

Re: Worst Writing Job Ever!

Post by Celeste Stewart »

Yikes! That's horrendous. Welcome back to a place where your writing is valued!

My worst writing job was one of my first, straight out of college. I wrote short articles for a "magazine publisher" only to find out the company was a scam. Yes, the magazines where published, but the company was sending bills to companies for ads that they never placed. As soon as I found out (within a few days), I quit.
Debbi

Post by Debbi »