New User Needs Some Clarification

Area for content rejection questions.

Moderators: Celeste Stewart, Ed, Constant

kcstephens

New User Needs Some Clarification

Post by kcstephens »

I am a new writer and am very eager to get started, but am a bit confused about how to go about...well, getting started. I tried to search the requested content page and (maybe it's just me) feel that some of the people requesting content are very vague about what they want. For example, there was a person requesting articles for a new site she was trying to start where she sells beauty products. She didn't ask for anything specifically, so after reviewing her site I thought that an article about how to do professional looking acrylic nails at home would lure people to her site where, after reading the article, they could purchase her products and follow the steps in the article. It was rejected, the reason given was that they require "completely original content". I assumed I would get a few rejections while I learn the basics, so it didn't hurt my feelings too much. I assume the reason it was rejected is because one can type in on a search engine "how to do acrylic nails at home" and pull up other articles with similar steps as the one I wrote. That doesn't surprise me, you have to follow a certain sequence of steps to do your nails at home that wasn't a whole lot different from the steps in my article. So, lesson learned, time to move on.
My questions though are as follows:
1) When looking through requested content, if you are unsure of what it is that the person wants and cannot contact them until you have 5 accepted articles, how do you go about writing an article that suits their needs? Should you send a quick message to administrators and ask them to contact the person on your behalf?