Is Anyone Else Afraid of Getting Banned?

Area for content rejection questions.

Moderators: Celeste Stewart, Ed, Constant

ChristinaS

Is Anyone Else Afraid of Getting Banned?

Post by ChristinaS »

I'm new to freelance writing and really afraid of my account being permanently banned. I've had three out of four articles come back for (minor) revisions and I'm afraid that I'm going to get banned soon. I'm wondering if I should take a break from submitting here for a few months while I explore other sites.

I'm not looking for a pep talk; I'm wondering if any other new writers share my fears or if I'm letting my paranoia get the best of me.
mnicol22

Re: Is Anyone Else Afraid of Getting Banned?

Post by mnicol22 »

Hello ChristinaS and welcome! :)

I am relatively new here as well. I was terrified when I submitted my first two articles and they came back rejected because I had read that dreaded rule about getting banned after three rejections. Most of the mistakes I made were minor, but still it scared me for a while. I also had some serious phrasing issues with run-on sentences, which I think I have improved a lot since I came here. I reviewed the articles and resubmitted them and they were accepted. I don't think the editors are strict on this rule, especially if you make an effort to fix the mistakes they point out to you. However, if you keep making the same mistakes over and over again, that may be a reason for a ban.

No matter how thoroughly you review your article before submitting, it is highly likely that you will miss a typo, a misplaced comma or something of that nature. I seriously doubt it that you will get banned for this kind of mistakes. I also find it hard to believe that experienced writers with hundreds of articles here have had less than three rejections during their carreer on CC! :wink: Keep trying to improve and you will be fine!
jellygator

Post by jellygator »