Help

Area for content rejection questions.

Moderators: Celeste Stewart, Ed, Constant

lanoste

Help

Post by lanoste »

I received 5 rejections today. Although the reasons included, erroneous commas and word choice errors, I'm still unsure what to correct. I know there are slight differences with UK and US grammar. Could that be one of the reasons? (I'm a UK writer). When you say 'word choice' errors, do you mean using synonyms? I admit I have done that in all the rejected articles. I think I'm trying to include keywords relevant to the article. Also. Is there a facility here for proofreading rejected work? Oh before I forget, what is procedure for re-submitting work? Sorry for the questions!
Last edited by lanoste on Thu Oct 02, 2008 11:55 am, edited 1 time in total.
Ed

Re: Help

Post by Ed »

This has nothing to do with British English vs. American English. Your articles contain many errors - words that may be considered synonyms according to a thesaurus are not always the best words for the job. When you mean "perspective," don't say "eye." In addition, some words are used incorrectly, or the sentence isn't clear because of punctuation, sentence construction, or just plain awkward/incorrect phrasing.

For example, the title "The Three Stages of a Writer" is not logical. "The Three Stages to Becoming a Writer" makes more sense.

This sentence is extremely problematic: "It is not true to say that if you did not stem from a background of academics, you cannot become a writer. "
This could be rewritten, "Even if you're not an academic, you can become a writer." Or, "It isn't necessarily true that your background has to be an academic one if you want to become a writer."

Please use commas where necessary, but do not include them where they do not belong. This page is very useful: http://owl.english.purdue.edu/handouts/ ... comma.html