Hugh is new

New writer to CC, introduce yourself here!

Moderators: Celeste Stewart, Ed, Constant

Hugh

Hugh is new

Post by Hugh »

Hi everyone. I'm a newbie here and looking forward to a good experience. My first article's been submitted and I'm cautiously optimistic about a positive review. Even though I proofread it before submission, I found some parts that I've subsequently reworked to read better. Generally I'm pleased with it though.

Just FYI, my first article runs about 2700 words, which I think could be broken into 4 or 5 serialized pieces. The article's about business, but that's about as much as I'm comfortable divulging.
I'm curious to know how the more experienced of you would issue rights on a larger piece like this (it seems to me that there's a lot of 500 word articles) and would be grateful for any insights in that regard, especially as I'm planning on at least 5 more pieces of roughly the same length.

I noticed that the keywords were identified in the piece, with the specifically addressed subject running at about 4%. Is that okay?

Finally, does anyone here write for those traffic churner sites like hub pages or squidoo? I've opened an account at Hub Pages and to be honest, I was going to write these as Hubs, but I think there's a better opportunity here. I'd really like to hear your thoughts on this last issue (can/do you write for both?) especially, though your experience with longer articles is also welcome too.

Thanks and Hello!
Celeste Stewart

Re: Hugh is new

Post by Celeste Stewart »

Hi Hugh - welcome to CC. In my experience, five 500-word articles on tightly focused topics will do better than one 2500-word article covering those topics in depth -- at least here on CC. Naturally, some exceptions exist, but for getting started here, I'd recommend shorter, tightly focused pieces.