New to CC! An Introduction

New writer to CC, introduce yourself here!

Moderators: Celeste Stewart, Ed, Constant

CameronHarper

New to CC! An Introduction

Post by CameronHarper »

Hello all -

I am new to CC and writing under the pen name Cameron Harper. With two articles already reviewed and accepted, I am well on my way and enjoying it thus far. Just wanted to introduce myself to the group as I hope to be an active participant in terms of writing articles and posting to the forum. I look forward to getting to know some of you.

With that said, do the more experienced writers have any advice or tips on how to best sell some content? As a part-timer, I am just looking to contribute a few hours each week and hope to pick up some extra spending money through my love of writing.

Thanks.
SJHillman

Re: New to CC! An Introduction

Post by SJHillman »

Sell Well Guide:

1) Spelling and grammar - don't count on editors to catch everything. I've seen a few with errors slip past the editors and then sit unsold.

2a) Find a unique niche - subjects that are poorly covered by other authors often sell well, although you may have to wait longer for a client looking for that particular subject to stroll by.

2b) Find a unique angle - similar to 2a, but find a unique angle for a subject that's already well covered. Perhaps an opposing viewpoint or an analysis of previously overlooked facts.

3) Seasonal - If it's November, articles about Thanksgiving, Christmas or winter will sell well. In March, articles about Easter, spring and (early) summer will sell well. It's also best to write an article so that if it doesn't sell this year, it might still sell next year when the season rolls around again. All of my quickest-selling articles (less than 5 days after acceptance) have been of the "seasonal advice" variety.