Do reviews sell well?

A place where authors can exchange ideas or thoughts. Talk about what categories are hot and which ones are not.

Moderators: Celeste Stewart, Ed

gl205

Do reviews sell well?

Post by gl205 »

Hi all, I'm a newly-fledged CC writer and I'm finding my feet by writing quite a broad range of articles. There are some films I've seen recently, and books I've read, and I was thinking of writing some reviews of them. I also have a few ideas for some 'Top 5' articles. Does anyone know if those types of articles sell well on CC? Does anyone write content like that regularly?

Gill
Lysis

Re: Do reviews sell well?

Post by Lysis »

I haven't reviewed a movie (I don't think...4 years on CC and 150 articles you forget stuff lol). I have reviewed games. I've sold my gaming reviews. I've seen movie reviews sell. I reviewed Zelda about a year and a half ago (when the game first came out, I played it), and it sold a month or two ago to the customer looking for game and console reviews. He did a public request, and I was too busy to write more.

CC is an enigma to me, but in a good way. Just when you think something won't sell, someone comes up and snatches it. You should write about whatever you want. I've seen some obscure things sell that I would not have thought anyone was looking for. lol It's really cool. Sometimes I sit here trying to come up with titles just because there are so many options here.

So, basically, if you want to review a move, review a movie. It could be like me and take 1.5 years to sell, but I've also sold articles within minutes of it going up too. It's just a matter of when the right customer comes along.

Incidentally, a few months ago, I sold one of my first articles I did for a request in 2009. It was for lawn care. Really didn't think it was going anywhere, but got the "sold" email a few months ago.
evaku

Post by evaku »