Would more words for more money = mo' or no sales?

A place where authors can exchange ideas or thoughts. Talk about what categories are hot and which ones are not.

Moderators: Celeste Stewart, Ed

ProseyRosie

Would more words for more money = mo' or no sales?

Post by ProseyRosie »

Hello out there. Relative newbie here with a question about selling articles for a bigger profit: suppose a client is offering $50-100 for 1000 words, would shopping 1100 words for more than $100 pique the client's interest or push him/her away? I welcome all responses, as I'm trying to "get my legs" here at CC.
Lynnemac

Re: Would more words for more money = mo' or no sales?

Post by Lynnemac »

It could go either way.

If they have a budget and no more cash to spend, going over the limit could put them off.

Alternatively, they may be quite happy to pay a bit more for a well-written, well-reasoned article.

I tend to be quite cautious, but perhaps it may be worth the gamble if you feel the article really needs the extra word count.

Cheers,
Lynne
Celeste Stewart

Post by Celeste Stewart »

I advise against going over the word count just to get more money. A concise article is more valuable than one that rambles. Use your words wisely and you'll be able to get top dollar for them.
ProseyRosie

Post by ProseyRosie »

Thanks for your input, Celeste and Lynnemac. It was just a thought. However, I'm beginning to have second thoughts about trying it. I don't wanna push the envelope and have it backfire on me.
SJHillman

Post by SJHillman »