Are editors costing this site business?

Keep Involved in Planning Changes to the Site. Have your Voice Count.

Moderators: Celeste Stewart, Ed, Constant

lisam

Are editors costing this site business?

Post by lisam »

I have thought long and hard about making this post, as it is bound to arouse the ire of the editors. I understand that what sets Constant Content apart from other article sites is the consistent high quality of the articles here. However, in my opinion editorial standards are overly picky to the point of pedantry. I think this hurts the site.

I am a writer who also happens to purchase articles as content for my site. When I purchase an article, I expect it to be well written with excellent spelling and grammar. However, if one comma is out of place it does not particularly matter to me nor indeed the majority of my readers. Editors are returning good articles based on one comma being out of place. Much of this relates to the editors personal preferences and style.

This is not only hugely frustrating for authors, it hurts the site financially too. I have heard rumors that authors have started to work with clients directly, to avoid the editorial process. Authors who can write quality articles leave the site. Clients are left waiting for requests. The review times are getting longer, authors are getting frustrated. The commission lost by Constant Content because of this must be considerable.

I am not expecting the site to become a content farm - far from it. It is the quality of the articles here which attracts the customers. The articles on this site are mainly used as web content, some of it just for search engine optimization. If the piece is well written, contains good grammar and perfect spelling, does it really matter if a comma or two is out of place?
JStone

Re: Are editors costing this site business?

Post by JStone »