The Wisdom of Lowering Prices?

Not an author yet? Have questions? Post here!

Moderators: Celeste Stewart, Ed, Constant

Pellucidean

The Wisdom of Lowering Prices?

Post by Pellucidean »

I'm a new writer, and I'm wondering if any of the the more experienced writers have any input on whether or not it's a good idea to lower prices on articles that aren't selling after a certain point. A few of my articles are now about a month old, and haven't received any sales or offers yet. Is there a point in time where I should I start setting the price lower? Or is it better to hold out?
On a similar note, does a lot of hits without any sale or offer indicate I'm setting the price too high? I recently had an article get 36 hits (which is a lot, at least compared to most of my other articles) without anyone actually biting.

Thanks for any help!
cmcmahon66

Re: The Wisdom of Lowering Prices?

Post by cmcmahon66 »

I often lower mine by $5 or $10 when they haven't sold in a couple of months. Are you seeing articles similar to yours sell? What are they selling for?

When I was starting out I priced my stuff lower to get more sales and get on the board, to counteract my inexperience here. Now I price according to the demand for the particular topic/category, the going prices I see similar topics selling for, and how many articles are out there with my same keywords. Do a search on the topics of the articles in question. If there are others out there, look at their prices and maybe set yours the same or $5-$10 lower.

If an article has languished for over a year, and it isn't something seasonal (because demand spikes each year on the seasonal stuff), I will cut it to the bare bones just to get rid of it from my catalog. I assume it is a topic that there was little to no demand for.